Krutar Spring Creeks


Remarks by some of our guests say about their vacation at the Krutar Homestead Vacation Lodge:

—————————————————————————————
First impression - WOW! and it got better from there!

  • Guest Miriam L. (-)
  • Date of stay 09/13/13
  • Review Submitted 09/16/13
    This isn't just a vacation rental - it's an experience! What a fantastic property! Views in every direction. Excellent fishing and recreation and to top it off - a beautiful handcrafted masterpiece of a home! LOVED it! Would go back in a heart beat and will recommend it to others for sure! What a great place to unplug, get off the grid and do what you're supposed to do in Montana - enjoy the serenity and beauty! A+++++

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, girls getaway.

    —————————————————————————————
    A Great Stay in a Charming Location

  • Guest Pam (United States)
  • Date of stay 08/26/13
  • Review Submitted 09/07/13

  • My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and loved it. We loved the well designed house, the 500 acre ranch, the horses, the front porch, the crystal clear ponds, the mountain views, the quiet, the serenity, the wildlife and the ability to rest, relax and recuperate. This is one of our favorite VRBO rentals - it was exactly what we were looking for. Jon and Diane, the owners, are warm and welcoming and made our stay special. This place is a real gem. Don't miss a chance to stay.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    —————————————————————————————
    Serenity in a beautiful place

  • Guest Jakob (NYV)
  • Date of stay 06/28/13
  • Review Submitted 07/08/13

    Western Montana paradise indeed! We stayed for a week in the beautiful cottage. The property is amazing end to end. Starting with the farm, set in a beautiful rolling meadow with water all around and lots of farm roads and trails to explore. The house itself is a treasure. The sheer craftsmanship is amazing. It's something you really don't see very often anymore. It's lovingly restored and furnished with a gentle hand and impeccable attention to detail. It's also brilliantly functional, with a large kitchen, two good sized bathrooms. The wrap around porch means you can follow the sun. The views are stunning in every direction. The thermodynamics of the house are great also. It keeps you cool on a 100 degree day and warm when the evening chill comes around. Finally Jon and Diane are great people. We really enjoyed our time together and to meet some of the folks around the farm. Looking at the operation in action brought me right back to my childhood. We found the location a wonderful base for exploring Western Montana. Glacier NP is a day trip. So are other great destinations like the bison range, the old prison or a trip to the reservation. Mostly though we stayed close by checking out the near towns and hiking in the close hills. But above all that was just staying at the ranch. It's hard to beat having a cold beer on the porch of one of the nicest places I've had the pleasure to visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, families with young children.
    —————————————————————————————
    Beautiful Blackfoot Retreat

  • Guest Jane (New Orleans)
  • Date of stay 09/15/12
  • Review Submitted 10/11/12

    My husband and I spent 10 nights at the Homestead in late September. It’s a beautifully built, spacious and comfortable cabin on a 500-acre ranch. The views from every room are wonderful - of meadows and mountains. The property and house are as described, but the photos don’t do it justice. You will find better information at the Krutar website. There are fishy-looking spring creeks on the property, and the North Fork of the Blackfoot borders the ranch. We enjoyed fishing on the ranch, but we had much better luck on the Big Blackfoot which we floated with a guide on three days. Some believe the Blackfoot to be the most beautiful of Montana’s great trout streams. We wouldn’t disagree (having fished the Madison, Missouri, Bighorn, Big Hole, Bitterroot, etc.) and we would add that the trout (all caught on dries) this September were plentiful and hungry. Great fishing. We wondered what we’d do for 10 days on what we consider a very isolated piece of land. We had no trouble filling our days - with fishing, of course; hiking on the ranch property; driving to buy farm eggs from a nearby potter, where we filled a suitcase with her lovely, river-hued bowls. We drove to nearby Browns Lake and to the more beautiful Coopers Lake, exploring the area. We cooked most meals at home as the restaurant offerings were poor. Little Ovando is worth a few visits, and we had a good lunch and excellent breakfast at The Stray Bullet. The small grocery is fairly well-stocked for its size. But the main attraction of Ovando is the Blackfoot Angler where one can hear the latest fishing report, and pick up some can’t-miss flies. And last, but certainly not least, we enjoyed visits with Jon Krutar, and learning from him about Montana ranch life. He and his wife live on the ranch, and were most helpful with our questions and requests. We highly recommend The Homestead for a fishing vacation, or for a get-away-from-it-all vacation in a true Montana setting.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    —————————————————————————————
    Great fishing, beautiful views, amazing home

    Guest: mtnrin (Missoula, MT)
    Date of Stay: 06/14/12 Review Submitted: 06/26/12

    This was a truly relaxing family getaway. We had planned on leaving and exploring the area each day but in the end we never had to leave the homestead. The house provided all amenities and the property offered great fishing, relaxing, a lawn for the little one to play in and something to do for everyone. We will definitely return. Thank you!


    Owner response: Thanks folks for the kind review. We look forward to your return. We enjoyed sharing the ranch with all of you. Enjoy the 4th & the rest of the summer.

    —————————————————————————————
    Charlie

    Guest: Charlie (Houston, TX)
    Date of Stay: 04/01/12 Review Submitted: 04/04/12

    The property is accurately described as a paradise. The cabin (house is a more accurate description) is exceptionally clean and well maintained. Staying there is like owning your own Montana Ranch. The owners are helpful in every way.

    Owner response: Thanks Charlie for your kind comments.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, adventure seekers.

    —————————————————————————————
    Our Montana Vacation

    Guest: Laura (Tunnel Hill, Georgia)
    Date of Stay: 07/05/11 Review Submitted: 08/14/11

    We are a northwest Georgia family that went online to find a cabin near Missoula to be close to our trout fishing guide we had hired. We were blessed to find this cabin, and the family that owned it. The day we were leaving I looked up and saw my 19 year old son writing in the guest book. I emailed Jon, the owner, and asked him to let me know what Lane said. I felt like Lane's review could not state my feelings any better. Lane is a football playing, mountain biking, hangin out with college friends type of kid. This is what he wrote: Dear Jon, Putting this place in words is almost impossible. Everywhere you look is an amazing sight, from the snow capped mountains to the wind blowing across your fields, and all the wildlife right in front of the cabin. We truly enjoyed every moment out here, and I think I can speak for my family when I say this trip will never be forgotten. Thank you for showing us around, making us feel at home, and teaching us the Montana way. It is tough to leave this six star ranch, and we will miss you and your wife. I hope we can come back out here again! We wish you and your family health and prosperity. Once again, thank you for the experience of a LIFETIME.

    Owner response: Laura- Thanks very much. You guys are wonderful. Undoubtedly you were the best guests all summer! Sorry you had so much trouble getting the VRBO stuff to work. It finally did & with your & Lane's words I shall never need another review. I noticed you included girls getaway! If the rest of the family cannot make it out, you & your pals come out & we shall show them a good time with the growlers & Trixis!! Best to all! Jon & Laddy

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway.

    —————————————————————————————
    Winter Wonderland

    Guest: John & Judy (Ashland, Oregon)
    Date of Stay: 12/22/10 Review Submitted: 04/19/11

    Our family (kids and grandkids) spent Christmas week 2010 at this historic lodge near Ovando, in the valley of the Blackfoot River. What a magnificent setting for a family holiday! In this private world, the surrounding pastoral fields were buried in a thick blanket of snow, so that we could head out on snowshoes or cross-country skis right from the porch and explore to our hearts' content. It was a wonderland of white, changing through the day; we caught the alpenglow on the peaks to the north as the late afternoon sun faded. Even in the cold, the property's spring-fed streams and pools remained open; the reflections of the homestead and the mountainous backdrop made for postcard-quality photos -- still etched in our minds. In spite of the remote setting, the beautiful finishing of the historic log cabin + barn complex left nothing to be desired -- a fully equipped kitchen, a great room for gathering -- plenty of room to erect and trim a huge Christmas tree. We were warm and cozy for lots of celebratory meals, singing and games. Truly a reunion to remember. The property was spotless and ready to enjoy when we arrived, and the host and hostess were very accommodating. I can't imagine a lovelier spot for a winter gathering than this lodge in Ovando.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway.

    —————————————————————————————
    Guest: Jack Collishaw (Helena, MT)
    Date of Stay: 08/20/09 Review Submitted: 08/20/09

    Jon, After two years of securing a weekend at your hideaway we finally made it. Thank goodness we didn't miss on our second year. The weather was rough but that only added to the beauty and we look to return in the fall or winter to further enjoy your beautiful work or may I say labor of love. Thank you for the opportunity to spend a couple of evenings here and we hope to see you and your family again.

    —————————————————————————————
    Guest: Eric Stoneman (Libertyville Illionois)
    Date of Stay: 08/20/09 Review Submitted: 08/20/09

    The Krutar cabin is perfect! Our group fished on the property as well as several surrounding rivers, creeks and lakes. It's a perfect home base for fishing in this beautiful part of Montana. The owner of the cabin, Jon Krutar, was a pleasure to spend time with. Whether it was tips on fishing or history of the area, Jon is fantastic. He made us feel like we were part of the family. We are already working on booking our trip for 2010. The Krutar cabin is a tue hidden gem.

    —————————————————————————————
    Guest: Dwight Hiesterman (Helena, MT)
    Date of Stay: 06/15/09 Review Submitted: 06/15/09

    Wow! an undiscovered gem only 1 1/2 hours from Helena, MT. Our family had such a wonderful time this past weekend. The cabin is spectacular, well kept and modern with mountain views, clear spring creek fishing and the North Fork of the Blackfoot River. If quiet and relaxing is what is needed this is the place. Fishing and just being in the outdoors? This is it. Visit this place for a real Montana experience.

    —————————————————————————————
    Guest: Nader Nawar (Ohio)
    Date of Stay: 09/04/08 Review Submitted: 09/04/08

    The Krutar Homestead was magnificent primarily b/c of the wonderful amenities, picturesque location which is unmatched for that area, and the wildlife available to experience and see. The hospitality afforded to us by the Krutars was splendid and the local friendliness was very quaint. We hope to come back again soon. It was an excellent choice for a honeymoon and a great location as we traveled throughout Montana.

    —————————————————————————————
    Guest: Micki Bruce (Virginia Beach, VA)
    Date of Stay: 07/17/08 Review Submitted: 07/17/08

    I knew the minute I walked in the door that I was home. Two weeks in this paradise was not enough. Even if you don't fly fish you will love this part of MT and it's people. Run down the road to Trixi's Saloon and hob nob with the locals, practice your casts in the beautiful fish hatchery ponds out back or explore any dirt road and you'll find history and beauty enough to make your camera smile. Best of all, sit on the porch with your morning coffee and enjoy to view. If you are lucky, "Buddy" the ranch dog will join you. There is not enough good things to say about this place.


    —————————————————————————————
    Guestbook Comment

    Guest: Anonymous 
    Date of Stay: 11/01/07 Review Submitted: 11/02/07

    The Krutar homestead cabin and its environs are absolutely wonderful and offer a true Montana experience. My wife and I have stayed there several times over the past few years. The cabin itself is charming, spacious and very attractive and the views are spectacular. For fisherman there is excellent fly-fishing nearby, both in the spring creeks that run through the property and on the Blackfoot River and its tributaries. In addition, there are marvelous places nearby to hike, including a waterfowl refuge area about a mile from the cabin. The hospitality and warmth of the owners is unmatched. We will keep going back so long as they'll have us.